Semi Transparent Background using div tags in dreamweaver 8
Posted: 19 March 2006 08:49 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2006-03-19

Ok, I am a college student studying for webpage design, and am working on a website for class. However me and my instructor both are stumped on this one problem. I have a graphic as a background and its fixed. I am then wanting to place on top of that a table or box that would contain text. But that box I’m wanting to make it semi transparent so the graphic in the far background is still seen. (and I would prefer placeing these inside of div tags). We have created the semi transparent background in adobe photoshop and in fireworks, and the only time it ever worked was when we saved the background as a png file and opened it in the firefox browser. But of course Explorer does not recognize png files. jpg wont work because it doesnt recognize transparency. and for some reason gif wont work either. I am so confused. can anyone help?

ps- we are using dreamweaver 8 to build the site.

Karabear

Posted: 22 March 2006 06:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2006-03-22

You have to use an IE-specific CSS tag, filter along with PNG images. You want to serve any non-IE browser the regular PNG (as they can handle the transparency) and use IE’s Conditional Comments system to serve it the DirectX Filtered image and disable the other normal BG.

Here’s an example from one of my sites:

<style>
storybody {
    background
-imageurl(images/trans-cccccc.png);
}
</style>

<!--
[if IE]>
<
style>
storybody {
    filter
:progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.AlphaImageLoader(src='images/trans-cccccc.png',sizingMethod='scale');

width100%;

background-imagenone;
}
</style>
<!
[endif]-->

<
div class="storybody" style="padding: 2px;">
    <
p>{NEWSICON}Posted by {NEWSAUTHOR} on {NEWSDATE}</p>
    <
p>{NEWSBODY}</p>
</
div

Hope this helps! :)

Posted: 26 March 2006 10:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  17